squid and pea risotto recipe

Squid & pea risotto (in my new Kuhn Rikon)

I’ve been wanting to get a shallow casserole dish that can go from hob to oven for a good few years now but the prices have always put me off…until I went in to TKMaxx and saw this absolute beauty for just £39.99. It’s heavy, easy to clean and will be my main pan for everything from sautéing, casseroling and even frying eggs in. Here’s my recipe for the very first dish I cooked in it – a simple squid and pea risotto.

Ingredients: 

1 tablespoon olive oil

one large onion finely chopped

8 medium sized squid tubes & tentacles (cleaned & roughly chopped in to 2 cm pieces with tentacles kept whole) 

1 mug of aborio risotto rice

1 Knorr chicken stock pot

approx 500ml boiling water

1 mug of frozen peas

Sea salt & ground black pepper

Handful well chopped fresh parsley

1 whole lemon

– serves 2 –

Instructions: 

1. Warm a shallow pan on a medium heat and add the olive oil and onions until soft (but not coloured)

2. Add the squid and cook for 2 minutes

3. Add in the rice, stock pot and 200ml of the water. Stir well then pop on the lid. Check after 3 minutes and add more water a bit at a time until the rice is cooked and all water has been absorbed.

4. Add in the peas, seasoning and fresh parsley, replace the lid and cook for a final 2 minutes.

5. Remove the lid, squeeze in half of the juice from the lemon, stir well then serve with a wedge of lemon for each person.

Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Squid & pea risotto (in my new Kuhn Rikon)

  1. Hi – love the look of this. Are you still in love with the pan? Would love to know as I saw one this week and was undecided. Thanks!

    1. I am indeed! I Use it most nights and the convenience of it going from job to oven is great – it’s also v easy to clean (no annoying grooves etc) although too heavy and big to go in the dishwasher – not sure whether it’s actually dishwasher safe but wouldn’t put it in there anyway. It really holds in the heat though so I find that if I’m following a slow cook/oven recipe then I have to increase the fluid ratio a little

      1. Thanks for the feedback, going to rush out and get it tonight. 🙂
        BTW – apologies for the triple “love”… only noticed on re-reading. D’oh!

Leave a Reply

